History and Governance

Today we lead the school; tomorrow our students will lead the world.

In 1981, visionary director Doris Shneidman, two extraordinary teachers, eleven students and their parents believed that having Jewish values intertwined throughout every grade, every day and every educational experience in a pluralistic community Jewish day school would help form the leaders of tomorrow. They could not have known the incredible continuing impact of their vision.

MJDS is built on the same core values today. Our school continues to reflect the academic excellence, innovation and Jewish values that allow each child to thrive. Driving our teaching and learning is a focus on wonder, empathy and tikkun olam that prepares every student to excel in a world that is ever-changing.

We are grateful for our Board of Directors who are extremely dedicated and generous with their time and resources to ensure a bright future for our school and students. Responsibilities of the Board include:

  • Establishing school policies to ensure that our mission and vision is pursued and upheld
  • Developing and guiding a strategic plan
  • Financial oversight of the school, including the budget and fundraising efforts



Sarah Schott, President
General Counsel and Chief Compliance Officer

Lina Dreyfus Wallace, President Elect
Assistant Director, Wellness
URJ Olin-Sang-Ruby Union Institute

Jason Gottlieb, Immediate Past President
Senior Product Specialist
Emmi Wolters Kluwer

Peter Sprinkmann, Vice President and Treasurer
Sprinkmann Sons Corporation

Bonnie Klein-Tasman, Vice President and Secretary
Professor, Dept. of Psychology
University of Wisconsin - Milwaukee

Edward Blumenthal, Vice President
Chair & Associate Professor of Biological Sciences
Marquette University

Allan Carneol, Vice President
Zetley, Carneol & Stein, S.C.

Stephanie Miller, Vice President
Branding Consultant
Orange & Fifth Foods


Calie Herbst
Founder & Editor
Milwaukee With Kids



Debra Altshul-Stark*
Elliot Berman*
Nathan Bernstein*
Judy Bloch*
Maris Bock*
Ric Domnitz*
Howard Frankenthal
Larry Gellman*
Dr. Marc Jacobson*
Debra Koenig*
Dan Kohl*
Steve Kravit*
David Lowe*
Felicia Miller*
Sandy Mitz, z"l*
Rick Ross, z"l
Michael Schaalman*
Dan Sinykin*
Martin R. Stein*

* Past President of the Board of Directors



Jeremy Chapman
Child and Adolescent Psychiatrist
Treffert Center / SSM Health

Jason Dropik
Head of School
Indian Community School

Mark Freedman, MD
Senior Partner and Owner
Eye Care Specialists SC

Sara Galicki
Accounts Payable Manager
Trike Property Management

Lori Jacobson
Vice President, Account Management, Ret.
MedImpact Healthcare Systems

Meghan Katch
Bangert & Corallo

Michael Mazius, Ph.D.
Psychologist, Clinic Director
North Shore Center, LLC

Sharyl Paley
Bayshore Pediatrics - Children's Wisconsin

Todd Richheimer
Co-Founder / Co-Owner
Inktothepeople / Visual Impressions

Dan Rosenfeld
Mid-America Real Estate

Michelle Walny
English Instructor
Nicolet High School