Bright Futures Gala

Bright Futures Gala

April 28, 2022

Reception | 5:30 p.m.
Dinner and program | 6:30-9:00 p.m.
Saint Kate - The Arts Hotel


Susan A. Lubar


MJDS is a vibrant, pluralistic learning community committed to 21st century learning. We inspire students to cultivate their Jewish identity through a multidisciplinary curriculum where they are free to explore, debate and embrace Jewish life and learning.

The Bright Futures Gala celebrates our mission and raises critical funds that support integral programs. At this year’s event, MJDS is proud to honor long-time supporter and alumni parent, Susan A. Lubar, for her deep commitment to Milwaukee children and to making an MJDS education accessible to even more families. In Susan’s honor, funds raised at the Gala will support our Affordable Customized Tuition (ACT) program.

Please join MJDS supporters, current and alumni families and staff for an illuminating evening of dinner, cocktails and community as we recognize Susan A. Lubar for her incredible dedication and shine a light on the MJDS Class of 2000.


We look forward to presenting the Tikkun Olam Award to Susan A. Lubar, president and founder of Growing Minds. Susan works to share her keen sense of awareness and mindfulness with school-age children in a safe and trusting environment.

Not only has she improved the lives of countless educators through Growing Minds, Susan gives back to the Milwaukee community as a highly respected and active member of many boards of directors. Susan is a truly remarkable woman in our Milwaukee community as an entrepreneur, innovator and nonprofit leader.

Susan is a proud mother of three adult children who all attended MJDS – Simen, Isabelle and Sonja.

MJDS Bright Futures Gala Honoree: Susan Lubar Solvang


The Bright Futures Gala will be held at Saint Kate — The Arts Hotel, a Marcus hotel, located at 139 E Kilbourn Ave, Milwaukee, WI 53202 (Google Map location).

Explore sponsorship and underwriting opportunities as we prepare for this illuminating event!

Thank you to our Sponsors/Underwriters:


Lead Sponsor

Diamond Sponsor

Platinum Sponsor

Gold Sponsor

Cocktail Hour

Mission Video

Dinner Wine




Lighting & Sound

Alumni Reception


Rick Ross z"l

Anon Charitable Trust
Jaynie Skadron and Howard Frankenthal


Jane and Steve Chernof
Lori and Marc Jacobson

Marlene and Bert Bilsky
Cheryl and Mark Brickman
Anne and Steve Kravit
Melina and David Marcus
Miller Baking Co.
Richheimer Family
S&S Sales Corporation
Sid Grinker Restoration

Nina and Rich Edelman
Diane Loeb

Debbie and Aaron Bernstein
Sarah Schott and Brian King

Lori Craig

Gail Hoffman and Rick Meyer
Alisa and David Wasserman


Tanya and Bruce Arbit

Lauri and Rob Roth

Noah Mitz

Pip and David Lowe















2022 Gala Committee

  • Honoree
  • Susan A. Lubar

  • Co-Chairs
  • Jane and Stephen Chernof
  • Jaynie Skadron and Howard Frankenthal

  • Committee Members
  • Rachel Adams*
  • Anonymous
  • Sami Stein Avner*
    Karen and Elliot Berman
  • Deborah and Aaron Bernstein
  • Shannon and Nathan Bernstein
  • Cheryl and Mark Brickman
  • Susan and Allan Carneol
  • Lori Craig
  • Joan Lubar and John Crouch
  • Linda and David Deskalo
    Nina and Rich Edelman
  • Karen and Jason Gottlieb
  • Shelly and Michael Hart
  • Sara and Mark Hermanoff
  • Gail Hoffman and Rick Meyer
    Bunny and Joel Honigman
  • Lori and Marc Jacobson
  • Debra and Moshe Katz
  • Debra and Steven Koenig
  • Anne and Stephen Kravit
  • Alyson and Aaron Lippman
  • Diane Loeb
  • Madeleine and David Lubar
  • Melina and David Marcus
  • Felicia and Jamie Miller
  • Elizabeth and James Neubauer
  • Mindy and David Palay
  • Cathy and Arnie Peltz
  • Sheryl and Michael Primakow
  • Susan and Todd Richheimer
  • Julie and Daniel Rosenfeld
  • Rick Ross z"l
  • Jodi Habush Sinykin and Daniel Sinykin
  • Jodi and Peter Sprinkmann
  • Bonnie Klein-Tasman and Marc Tasman
  • Lisa and Craig Zetley
  • Julie and Yoni Zvi

*Class of 2000


Please contact Donations and Stewardship Coordinator Jeffrey Bern at